Please note, we’re currently only able to process Apple Pay payments attached to Visa cards and not Mastercard. We’re working to resolved this. You can use your Mastercard by entering your card details as normal.

Welsh Horse Racing Awards Shortlists Revealed!


19 November 2018

Teenage Welsh jockey James Bowen (pictured right, with fellow nominees Sean Bowen and Adam Wedge) has been nominated in two categories for this week’s inaugural Welsh Horse Racing Awards sponsored by George Smith Horseboxes.

The 17 year old rider, who won the 2017 Coral Welsh Grand National on Raz De Maree, has been nominated for ‘Jockey of the Year’ and the ‘Rising Star’ categories.

James’ brother Sean is also in the final four for ‘Jockey of the Year’ along with Adam Wedge and flat rider David Probert.

The ‘Trainer of the Year’ title is between Evan Williams, Peter Bowen, David Evans, Tim Vaughan and Rebecca Curtis.

The winner of the Dunraven Group Welsh Champion Hurdle, Silver Streak, has been nominated for the ‘Hurdler of the Year’ category with another Evan Williams trained horse Clyne. The other nominees are Push The Tempo, a winner of three races for Robert Stephens and the Tim Vaughan trained Debece.

The ‘Flat Horse of the Year’ rests between the Ron Harris trained pair Under The Covers and Glamorous Rocket, Gracious John trained by David Evans and Castlelyons from the Robert Stephens yard.

Nominations for ‘Chaser of the Year’ include the Coral Scottish National winner Joe Farrell, the Market Rasen Summer Plate winner More Buck’s, the improving winner of four races Beggar’s Wishes and the enigmatic Buywise who won the Veterans’ Chase final at Sandown in January.

Buywise owner Hywel Jones is nominated in the ‘Owner of the Year’ category with Walters Plant Hire chairman Dai Walters, James & Jean Potter and Terry Reffell, an owner with David Evans.

In the ‘Rising Star’ category, James Bowen is joined by fellow nominees Connor Brace along with Monmouthshire based Grace Harris and Robert Stephens.

The winners of these categories – and those of ‘Stable Staff of the Year’, ‘Breeder of the Year’ and ‘Lifetime Achievement’ will be announced at the awards ceremony at Chepstow Racecourse this Thursday 22nd November. 

Chepstow Racecourse

Racecourse logo

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news, events and special offers direct to your inbox.