Please note, we’re currently only able to process Apple Pay payments attached to Visa cards and not Mastercard. We’re working to resolved this. You can use your Mastercard by entering your card details as normal.

Silver Streak’s 2017 Victory Stands Out In History


29 September 2022

The Paul Ferguson’s Jumpers To Follow for 4-Y-O Hurdle Race dates back to 1969 and was sponsored by Timeform for many years.  Its most illustrious winner was Night Nurse in 1975, one of the all-time greats whose gameness made him one of the most popular horses in a Golden Age for jump racing.  His 35 victories included two Champion Hurdles and numerous major steeplechases.  He was second in a Cheltenham Gold Cup.   

Contrastingly, the 1977 winner Levaramoss was a good prospect who later turned sour, frequently refusing to start and eventually being banned. 

1983’s winner Ra Nova would go on to win Newbury’s Schweppes Gold Trophy (now the Betfair Hurdle), the richest handicap hurdle of the season, four months later.   

The photogenic grey Silver Streak, from the Evan Williams stable, won in 2017.  It was the Welsh yard’s second success in the race in three years.  With hindsight the future Champion Hurdle third and Christmas Hurdle winner was a certainty here, carrying just ten stone four pounds. 

Martin Pipe’s stable dominated the race in the 1990s but since then Paul Nicholls has been the man to follow with eight victories since 2002.  The most recent, in 2020, was Thyme White, owned by the late Andy Stewart, of Big Buck’s fame.   

Chepstow Racecourse

Racecourse logo

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news, events and special offers direct to your inbox.