Please note, we’re currently only able to process Apple Pay payments attached to Visa cards and not Mastercard. We’re working to resolved this. You can use your Mastercard by entering your card details as normal.

67 Entered For The Coral Welsh Grand National


21 November 2018

Raz De Maree entered to defend Welsh Grand National crown

MS PARFOIS ante-post favourite with sponsors Coral

A total of 67 horses have been entered for the Coral Welsh Grand National, which is due to take place at Chepstow Racecourse on Thursday 27 December.  The sponsors Coral make Anthony Honeyball’s mare MS PARFOIS the ante-post favourite at 8/1, following a string of impressive performances as a novice last season.

Colin Tizzard’s ELEGANT ESCAPE, currently favourite for Newbury’s Ladbrokes Trophy, is also entered. The ante-post second favourite with the sponsors at 10/1, Elegant Escape could look to follow a similar path to stablemate Native River who followed up victory at Newbury by winning the Coral Welsh Grand National in 2016 before going on to win the 2018 Cheltenham Gold Cup.

RAZ DE MAREE is entered by trainer Gavin Cromwell, a famous winner of the 2017 renewal (run in January 2018), aged thirteen, ridden by then sixteen-year-old jockey James Bowen.  Raz De Maree was also runner-up in the 2016 Coral Welsh Grand National.  

Bowen has since gone on to be nominated for BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year and for a Stobart Lester Award for Jump Ride of the Year for his Coral Welsh Grand National win.

The entries also feature dual Scottish Grand National Winner, VICENTE, trained by Paul Nicholls, in the famous colours of Trevor Hemmings whilst Bob Buckler enters his 2018 Midlands Grand National Winner REGAL FLOW.

Top Irish trainer Gordon Elliott enters a total of six horses, including MONBEG NOTORIOUS, DOUNIKOS and 2016 Irish Grand National winner, ROGUE ANGEL in the famous colours of Gigginstown House Stud. 

“It’s another typically high-class Coral Welsh Grand National set of entries, with our early favourite the mare Ms Parfois, following some high-class efforts as a novice, while second favourite Elegant Escape could head to Chepstow hoping to emulate his Colin Tizzard trained stablemate Native River, who completed the Ladbrokes Trophy, Welsh National double two years ago,” said Coral’s David Stevens.

Executive Director of Chepstow Racecourse, Phil Bell commented, “We are really looking forward to another fantastic Coral Welsh Grand National in December, with some fantastic entries.  The race has a habit of throwing up some real stars of the British jumping scene, whether they be superstar horses like 2016 winner Native River, or jockeys like James Bowen whose career has gone from strength to strength in the last twelve months.”

For more information, or to buy tickets to the Coral Welsh Grand National, please visit  


Full entries for the 2018 Coral Welsh Grand National:


Race Details for 14:10 THE CORAL WELSH GRAND NATIONAL HANDICAP STEEPLE CHASE (CLASS 1)  (Grade 3) (52551), at CHEPSTOW on 27/12/2018
Ballyoptic (IRE)8Mills & Mason PartnershipNigel Twiston-Davies 
American (FR)8The Jago Family PartnershipHarry Fry 
Yala Enki (FR)8Hills of Ledbury (Aga)Venetia Williams 
Rock The Kasbah (IRE)8Mrs Diana L. WhateleyPhilip Hobbs 
Regal Encore (IRE)10Mr John P. McManusAnthony Honeyball 
Otago Trail (IRE)10Mrs Marie ShoneVenetia Williams 
Dounikos (FR)7Gigginstown House StudGordon Elliott 
Monbeg Notorious (IRE)7Gigginstown House StudGordon Elliott 
Elegant Escape (IRE)6Mr J. P. RomansColin Tizzard 
Top Gamble (IRE)10Walters Plant Hire & James & Jean PotterKerry Lee 
Sizing Tennessee (IRE)10Ann & Alan Potts LimitedColin Tizzard 
Dingo Dollar (IRE)6M Warren J Holmes R Kidner & J WrightAlan King 
Valtor (FR)9Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac SouedeNicky Henderson 
The Dutchman (IRE)8SprayClad UKColin Tizzard 
Ibis du Rheu (FR)7Mr J. HalesPaul Nicholls 
Vicente (FR)9Mr Trevor HemmingsPaul Nicholls 
Vyta du Roc (FR)9Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac SouedeNicky Henderson 
Ms Parfois (IRE)7Mr M. R. ChapmanAnthony Honeyball 
Vieux Lion Rouge (FR)9Prof Caroline Tisdall & Mr John GentDavid Pipe 
Baie des Iles (FR)7Mrs Z. WentworthRoss O'Sullivan 
Label des Obeaux (FR)7David Sewell & Terry WarnerAlan King 
Folsom Blue (IRE)11Core PartnershipGordon Elliott 
Vintage Clouds (IRE)8Mr Trevor HemmingsSue Smith 
Out Sam (GB)9Mr D CharlesworthGordon Elliott 
Wild West Wind (IRE)9Mr Simon W. ClarkeTom George 
Raz de Maree (FR)13James J. SwanGavin Cromwell 
Borice (FR)7Mr Simon Munir/Mr Isaac SouedeGordon Elliott 
Houblon des Obeaux (FR)11Julian Blackwell & Mrs Angus MaclayVenetia Williams 
Milansbar (IRE)11Mr Robert BothwayNeil King 
Ramses de Teillee (FR)6John White & Anne UnderhillDavid Pipe 
Regal Flow (GB)11Mrs C. J. DunnBob Buckler 
Rons Dream (GB)8Exors of the Late Mrs T. S. P. StepneyPeter Bowen 
Duel At Dawn (IRE)8The Duel At Dawn Racing PartnershipAlex Hales 
Final Nudge (IRE)9Corbett StudDavid Dennis 
Looksnowtlikebrian (IRE)7SC Botham & RG BothamTim Vaughan 
Kimberlite Candy (IRE)6Mr John P. McManusTom Lacey 
Lieutenant Colonel (GB)9Mr G. ThompsonSophie Leech 
Bishops Road (IRE)10Mr Alan HalsallKerry Lee 
Kansas City Chief (IRE)9Anthony BloomNeil Mulholland 
Mysteree (IRE)10Mrs Lynne MaclennanMichael Scudamore 
Holly Bush Henry (IRE)7P Middleton, M LowtherPhil Middleton 
Another Venture (IRE)7Racing For Maggie's PartnershipKim Bailey 
Impulsive Star (IRE)8Robert Waley-Cohen & Men HoldingNeil Mulholland 
Dawson City (GB)9Ian Payne & Kim FranklinPolly Gundry 
Lastbutnotleast (IRE)8Sarah Leslie and Beryl McCainDonald McCain 
Alfie Spinner (IRE)13Alan Beard & Brian BeardKerry Lee 
Shanroe Santos (IRE)9Mr James SummersLucy Wadham 
Pearl Swan (FR)10Roddy Owen & Paul FullagarPeter Bowen 
Pobbles Bay (IRE)8Mr David M. WilliamsEvan Williams 
West of The Edge (IRE) Richard Newland 
Ballycross (GB)7The Autism RockersNigel Twiston-Davies 
Captain Chaos (IRE)7Mike and Eileen NewbouldDan Skelton 
Mustmeetalady (IRE)8Ms Diane CarrJonjo O'Neill 
Rathlin Rose (IRE)10Mr Fergus WilsonDavid Pipe 
Jennys Surprise (IRE)10Foxtrot NH Racing SyndicateFergal O'Brien 
Chic Name (FR)6The Boom SyndicateRichard Hobson 
Two Smokin Barrels (GB)9Mr Martin JonesMichael Scudamore 
Rogue Angel (IRE)10Gigginstown House StudGordon Elliott 
Looks Like Power (IRE)8Mr C. A. HanburyDebra Hamer 
Back To The Thatch (IRE)6Mr M R & Mrs C J BarnwellHenry Daly 
Behind Time (IRE)7Mr John P. McManusHarry Fry 
Tanit River (IRE)8Brian Ead & Martin MooreTim Vaughan 
Billy Bronco (GB)7Mr & Mrs William RuckerEvan Williams 
Big Meadow (IRE)7Mr Peter BeadlesNeil King 
Delgany Demon (GB)10Mr C. M. WilsonDan Skelton 
Robinsfirth (IRE)9Christine Knowles & Wendy CarterColin Tizzard 
Prime Venture (IRE)7Mrs Janet DaviesEvan Williams 

Chepstow Racecourse

Racecourse logo

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news, events and special offers direct to your inbox.